Petroleum Economist announces winners

Celebrating the leading lights and most important playmakers from across the global energy sector, PE Media Network (PEMN) announces the winners of its revamped 2020 Awards, split across 22 categories.

For the first time in Petroleum Economist’s long and storied history industry participants were invited to vote for their peers from a shortlist whittled down from all nominations by a PEMN editorial board. And the industry responded with unprecedented enthusiasm, with thousands of executives casting their ballots.

We were also delighted to introduce awards for our new low-carbon energy brands: Transition Economist and Hydrogen Economist. Together with Petroleum Economist, these three channels—along with PE Maps and data, PE Events and the new PE Insight Centre for clients to showcase their brands to our global audience—form the backbone of the new PEMN.

Across the three publications, several global energy leaders stood out for their exemplary track record and pioneering efforts. For Petroleum Economist, ExxonMobil vice-president Tracy Lothian won the individual award for leadership. ExxonMobil also notably took home the Petroleum Economist Energy Project of the Year award for its groundbreaking deepwater Liza project offshore Guyana.

For Transition Economist, the individual leadership award was won this year by Bernard Looney, CEO of BP, for his work re-positioning the major towards the low-carbon future. Similarly, Hydrogen Economist recognised Jo Bamford of UK-based renewables provider Ryse Hydrogen for his efforts unlocking the hydrogen economy.

The full Petroleum Economist Awards 2020 categories and winners are:

Petroleum Economist Energy Finance Provider of the Year—Winner JP Morgan
Highly commended Societe Generale; NBK Capital

Transition Economist Finance Provider of the Year—Winner HSBC
Highly commended EIG; ING

Petroleum Economist Energy Advisory of the Year—Winner OilX
Highly commended Kpler; EY

Transition Economist Advisory of the Year—Winner PwC
Highly commended DNV GL; ERM

Petroleum Economist Energy Legal Services Provider of the Year—Winner White & Case
Highly commended King & Spalding; EY

Transition Economist Legal Services Provider of the Year—Winner White & Case
Highly commended Baker Botts; Herbert Smith Freehills

PEMN Marketing and Communications Strategist of the Year—Winner Sarah Howell, ExxonMobil
Highly commended Zeki Gurbuz, White & Case; Publicis Sapient

PEMN Contribution of the Year to CSR—Winner Chevron
Highly commended Energean; Serica Energy

PEMN Contribution of the Year to Industry Diversity—Winner ExxonMobil, for Power Play
Highly commended Shell; Spirit Energy

Petroleum Economist Energy Project of the Year—Winner ExxonMobil, Liza project, Guyana
Highly commended Saudi Aramco, Saudi Arabia tight gas; Total, Mozambique LNG financing

Transition Economist Project of the Year—Winner Acorn project
Highly commended Equinor, Hywind Tampen; NetZero Teesside

Hydrogen Economist Project of the Year—Winner Saudi Aramco, Sabic & IEE Japan, Saudi-Japan blue ammonia supply
Highly commended Neom; Air Liquide, Cryocap; Heide Refinery

Hydrogen Economist National strategy of the Year—Winner Germany
Highly commended Chile; Portugal

Petroleum Economist OFSE Provider of the Year—Winner Baker Hughes
Highly commended Aveva; Rocsole; Exceed

Transition Economist Strategy of the Year (Independent)—Winner Energean
Highly commended Woodside; Tullow Oil

Transition Economist Strategy of the Year (NOC)—Winner Saudi Aramco
Highly commended Adnoc; PetroChina

Transition Economist Strategy of the Year (IOC)—Winner BP
Highly commended Equinor; Repsol

Petroleum Economist Mid/Small Cap Energy Firm of the Year—Winner Pavilion Energy
Highly commended Genel Energy, Touchstone Exploration

Petroleum Economist Large Cap Energy Firm of the Year—Winner Saudi Aramco
Highly commended Chevron; Total

Hydrogen Economist Leader of the Year—Winner Jo Bamford, Ryse Hydrogen
Highly commended Frank Wouters, Worley; Laurent Carme, McPhy

Transition Economist Leader of the Year—Winner Bernard Looney, BP
Highly commended Ben van Beurden, Shell; Josu Jon Imaz, Repsol

Petroleum Economist Energy Leader of the Year—Winner Tracy Lothian, ExxonMobil
Highly commended Rainer Seele, OMV; Frederic Barnaud, Pavilion Energy